Gemstone Astrology : List of Gemstones With Pictures

Gemstone astrology is a part of the art of astrology.

Gemstones are advised as a remedy for bad phases in the life of a person based on his astrological planetary constellation during his birth.

They are used to nullify the ill effects of weak and also strengthen their effects for luck, fortune and success of the individual.

This is an ancient art and a gemstone is prescribed to an individual based on different schools of astrology

But Hindu or Vedic gemstone astrology is more accurate in the determination and prescription of proper remedy in the form of a gemstone.

However, as my experience, wearing an incompatible stone can create untoward effects like bad luck, health issues, and even death. See the points on astrology facts.

For suitable gemstone based on your horoscope, check out this article.

Gemstone based on your horoscope.

In the horoscope, you must decide two things gemstone-astrology

1. Which of the planet is weak and strong in your horoscope chart.

2. Which of the planets are favorable and unfavorable.

Based on the above two factors, if a planet is weak but favorable, you need to strengthen it by using a gemstone for more benefit.

If a planet is unfavorable to you, do not strengthen it by wearing the related gemstone as it causes more trouble.

Also, remember that wearing a gemstone will not vanish all of your problems but only part of your problems.

This because you are strengthening one planet or other but neglecting remaining ones.

Wearing a gemstone will be like putting a new tire to a car with worn tires. One new tire will not avoid all the chances of being punctured as other worn out tires are at risk.

So astrology first prefers to get issues solved by devotion suitable to the god of the planet concerned. If one is not able to pay devotion, then only they advise gemstone.

List of gemstones in gemstone astrology:

There is a total of 9 astrological gemstones.

Ruby gemstone: This is a gemstone of the sun god and is also called as Manik. Sun god is considered to be the ruler of all the other planets. The gemstone ruby is pinkish red in color.

Ruby gemstone

image by: Boykung

One can wear it in times of weak sun in the astrological chart or when the phase of the sun is running in a person’s life. But the sun should be in a favorable position. If it is weak, wearing ruby enhances the effect of the sun for a more favorable result. If it is strong still one can wear for addition benefits.

Effects: The ruby is said to bring growth in one career and life. It also enhances the strength of the heart.

It should be worn on a Sunday after offering prayer to Lord Surya or sun.

Pearl: It is also called mothi and is a gemstone of moon. It can be worn in time when the phase of a person is under moon transit.


Image by: Boykung

In general, anyone can wear it but those with a favorable moon in their horoscope will benefit a lot.

Effects: It is said to bring a stable mind avoiding fickle-mindedness. It is also said to remove sins of the wearer and bring in prosperity.

It should be worn on silver or gold studded ring (on small finger) or necklace on Monday evenings after offering prayer to Lord Shiva and moon.

Yellow sapphire: This is the stone of planet Jupiter. Since Jupiter is considered guru of gods, wearing it brings all other planets to favor you. It is yellow colored.

yellow sapphire

Image by: Boykung

The stone should be studded in gold and worn on the index finger on a Thursday. One should offer prayer to Lord Jupiter before wearing it.

Effects: It helps to grow spiritually, prosperity and also good family life.

Emerald/Panna: This is the gemstone representing mars. It is green in color and represents lord buddha i.e planet Mars.

Emeral gemstone

Image by: Boykung

It is one of the stone which affects the mind. One with the stone will have a strong mind and creative enthusiasm.

It should be worn on Wednesday on ring studded in gold on the ring finger.

Blue sapphire: This can be in blue or black color and is the stone representing planet Saturn. Blue Sapphire is not to be used without proper astrological advice as it is harmful.

list of gemstones

Image by: Boykung- freedigitalphotos

The stone produces effects very fast and if Saturn in not favorably placed, it gives harmful effects.

The stone should be studded in a gold ring and worn on the ring finger on a Saturday. One should offer prayer to Lord Shani before.

If you Shani is weak or unfavorable, you can worship lord hanuman instead.

Diamond: This is the gemstone of planet Venus. It is the king of gemstones. Once you wear, you will feel the influence of it a few minutes. It should be worn on ring finger studded in gold.

Diamond stone

Image by: Boykung

Effects: It provides confidence, courage, wealth, relives debts, gives good health and also improves spirituality.

It should be worn on a Friday after 11 am.

Coral: This is the stone of planet Mars. It is red in color. It influences mind a lot.

Coral gemstone

Image by:gemlab.co.in

It should be worn on a Tuesday.

Hessonite: This is stone for Rahu influence. The stone relives one of the ill weak effects of Rahu. It makes him strong.

Hessonite gemstone


Cats eye: This is aimed at malefics of Ketu. It is good to bring in fortunes. One can offer prayer to Lord Ganapati as an alternative to wearing this stone.

Cats eye

image by:gemsoul.com

As a word of caution one should prefer gemstones as a last resort. They should instead go for prayer corresponding deity for beneficial effects. Also, take expert opinion in wearing them.

Never wear ruby, pearl, coral, yellow sapphire in combination with diamond, emerald, blue sapphire, hessonite, and cats eye. First set stones are incompatible with the second set of stones.

Also one has tried them by tying the stone in a similar colored cloth to their arms for 3 days at least to see abnormal effects if any.

Stones without prayer are not active to deliver benefits. Never use already used stones. Always buy new ones. Every gemstone has the lifespan to give its effects. After the lifespan change to new one.

Share it
Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 52 comments